Apply for a Texas Surety Bond today! Absolute Surety is a leading TX bonding company. Apply easily online and take advantage of our lowest rates. Quickly browse the most popular bonds we offer for this state, or contact us for a full list.
Texas public adjusters need to get a $10,000 surety bond with their license.
How to become a Texas public adjuster
The Texas Department of Insurance licenses public adjusters in the state. Most applicants will need to take — and pass — the public adjuster exam and pay the $48 exam fee. After passing the exam, would-be adjusters need to finish the application process within one year. Public adjusters whose license has been expired for more than 90 days but less than one year or who are licensed in good standing in a reciprocal state do not need to take the exam.
Here’s some of the other information and fees Texas requires:
$50 application fee
Fingerprint background check
Personal information including address, social security number and date of birth
$10,000 surety bond
Name of the firm applicant will work for
Why is this bond required?
Texas public insurance adjusters need a surety bond to protect consumers from financial damages. If the adjuster violates their profession’s laws — or the terms of the surety bond — and a client incurs financial damage as a result, the client can file a claim on the surety bond to recoup losses.